Skip to content
Upcoming Pre-Licensure Courses
Upcoming Events

Pre-Licensure Training

The Associated General Contractors of Utah (AGC of Utah) offers monthly Pre-Licensure Education Courses to meet the State of Utah Department of Commerce and Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) requirements to obtain a Utah Contractors License.

Specialty/Subcontractor 25-Hour Pre-Licensure

The AGC of Utah Specialty/Subcontractor 25-Hour Pre-licensure course introduces contractors to various accounting processes, basic business practices, construction law, and general management skills. Industry experts will instruct you each day. Keep in mind, the course was not designed to address technical trade specific skills.

  • $310 Course Fee (includes lunch)
  • $59 Textbook Fee (not required) Utah Contractor Education, 12th Edition
  • State Law requires attendance for all hours to receive a Completion Certificate
  • There will be a $25 cancellation fee / $50 "No-Show" fee

ONLINE REGISTRATION IS AVAILABLE THROUGH THE CALENDAR LINK BELOW

General Contractor 30-Hour Pre-Licensure

AGC of Utah General Contractor 30-Hour Pre-licensure course overlaps with and contains all of the information in the 25-Hour course listed above, and include 5 additional hours required by Utah State law to prepare students to pass the Business and Law exam. All general contractors (E100, B100, R100), plumbing and electrical contractors require a 30-hour pre-licensure course.

  • $395 Course Fee (includes lunch)
  • $59 Textbook Fee (optional) Utah Contractor Education, 12th Edition. 
    • Textbook may be used during the DOPL Business and Law Exam
  • Class includes test preparation and a comprehensive practice test.
  • State Law requires attendance for all hours to receive a Completion Certificate
  • There will be a $25 cancellation fee / $50 "No-Show" fee

ONLINE REGISTRATION IS AVAILABLE THROUGH THE CALENDAR LINK BELOW

5 Hour Test Prep

Need some help getting ready for the Business and Law exam?  We can add you to the last day of any of our Pre-Licensure classes to get you prepared for testing. (Not needed if already registered for the 30 hour course) The cost is $85 for the class (includes lunch) and $59 for the book. A comprehensive practice test is included too. Online options available on the last day of our Salt Lake courses. Classes run from 8:30-2:00.

Give us a call to get registered. 801-363-2753 

Attention All Out-Of-State License Holders!

Recent rule changes allow certain out-of-state licensed contractors to be exempt from the pre-licensure course and exam requirements. Call the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) to see if your out-of-state license meets the requirements 1-866-275-3675.

See the Utah Contractor Application Page 2 for more information.

Construction Management Degree Graduates

If you have completed a 2 or 4 year degree, you may not need to take a Pre-Licensure Course. See the Utah Contractor Application Page 5 for more information.

Scroll To Top